Friday, November 27, 2015

Spectre


Good movie, but I miss Judi Dench.

She was sooo good, and the new M--Ralph "Rafe" "Ralphie" Fiennes--is hard to buy as a hero; he still looks exactly like the Dark Lord from the Harry Potter movies.


(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)

.

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Meet the Patels



Poor Mama & Papa Patel: they are burdened with a couple of kids in their 30s, and are desperate, willing to spend whatever money it takes, to fly them wherever it takes, make whatever compromises it takes, to just finally get on the road to grandchildren. 

You can tell that a certain point, they're just relieved their offspring are seemingly hetero.





(Hey!  Keep up with 2-Sentence Movie Reviews on Facebook!)



.

Bridge of Spies



This movie could have lost an hour in its running time, and still have been no more or less interesting.

As it was, the film is interesting--more or less.



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-Sentence Movie Reviews on Facebook!)


.

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Pyaar Ka Punchnama 2



There was a 12-minute rant about 3/4 of the way through the film that I enjoyed.

Yeah, that was the good part of the movie.


(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Pawn Sacrifice



The movie experience was like watching people playing chess--heavily-made-up people playing chess.

Tobey Maguire was fine, I guess (in a very Tobey Maguirey kinda way), but who I really would have loved seeing tackle this role: Andrew Garfield.



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Friday, October 9, 2015

Pan



Why was the character of Tiger Lily whitewashed, how is it Captain Hook is more like Indiana Jones, and why the HECK are the pirates singing Nirvana & The Ramones?!?

I sat through this thing thinking of the far superior prequel stories written by Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson.



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Grandma


I went into this movie knowing absolutely nothing--only that it stars Lily Tomlin, and I like Lily Tomlin (mind you, back in the day, this strategy burned me multiple times, when applied toward Whoopi Goldberg).

Fortunately, my idiotic strategy was successful this time, and I saw a really great, funny movie.



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Singh is Bliing


Okay, as usual, I put no research into the movie I saw, just blindly (and I think reasonably) assuming it was a sequel to the 2008 movie which I also saw, "Singh is Kinng."

I'm going to say the "bliing" was the slapstick, which was great & all over the place, and for the next non-sequel let's-take-advantage title, perhaps I'll suggest "Singh is Ka-ching."


(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Sicario


My favorite part of this movie was when Emily Blunt punched Josh Brolin in the face.

The only thing that could make this movie better was if she had punched him in the face twice.



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

The Martian



Well, of course there is no suspense involved in this movie: I mean, only an idiot would think they are going to let Matt Damon die on Mars.

I actually liked this movie a whole lot more than I thought I would--unlike the prequel they made, where I really didn't care if Sandra Bullock stayed spaced out.


(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.



Black Mass

Black_Mass_(film)_poster.jpg (256×380)

This was pretty rough to sit through: a long string of  violent crimes, plus Johnny Depp's makeup.

It would have been nice to have a palate cleanser at the end, like a Jackie-Chan-style reel of hilarious outtakes.


(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)



.

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

The Intern


What we have here, essentially, is two pretty big stars playing in a really bland made-for-television movie.

One you may actually enjoy, after about 40 minutes is cut away for commercials, and providing you fall asleep well before the ending.



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)

.

Friday, August 21, 2015

Fantastic Four



Okay, I couldn't NOT go see it, and I'm sure my lowered expectations from the wretched reviews helped, but -- I liked it.

Ah, c'mon: it is CERTAINLY better than the previous versions (just admit it)!




(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Bāhubali: The Beginning



Wait: I just sat through this fourteen-hour movie (give or take several hours)--no intermission--to learn that there is absolutely no resolution to the plot until "Baahubali: The Conclusion" comes out next year, by which time I will remember none of this?

Okay, so maybe the subtitle "the Beginning" should have given me the hint...


(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Ant-Man


I knew little about Ant-Man going in, but this might be my second-favorite Marvel Studios movie.

Which does not necessarily mean I would want to sit through it a second time.



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)

.

Bajrangi Bhaijaan



A mute Pakistani girl is lost & alone & India--wouldn't it be refreshing if she were still at least one of these things by film's end?
Bollywood just doesn't work that way, but the ride is a fun one, even with a song containing the oft-repeated line, "let's take a selfie."



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)



.

Friday, May 8, 2015

Avengers: Age of Ultron


Hey, the cast members who didn't talk last time, talked, this time!

And I'd tell you what they said, and all the other stuff that went down & will affect the next 6 sequels--but I was wayyy too distracted by Robert Downey, Junior's dyed goatee to pay attention. 



(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Saturday, March 14, 2015

Sunday, March 1, 2015

Blackhat



What starts out as a huge ensemble cast is before long cut down to one romantic duo.

Couldn't they have saved a few bucks by just starting out with a two-person cast?



2-SMR: The Facebook!
2-SMR: The Tumblr!


.

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Kingsman: The Secret Service


Here it is, the movie that asks, "can the later Roger Moore James Bond films be out-overdone?"; the answer, as it turns out, is "oh, hell, yes"--but why, I ask, would one actually WANT to?

I started out mildly amused, but at some point grew to hate the entire thing.


2-SMR: The Facebook!
2-SMR: The Tumblr!


.

Monday, February 23, 2015

Sunday, February 22, 2015

OSCAR NOMINATED SHORT FILMS 2015: ANIMATED



This year's selections were the best they've been in some time; I think my favorite is Me and My Moulton.

Sadly, though, the award may well go to the very pretty but completely uninspired & unoriginal Disney entry, Feast.




(Hey!  Catch up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.

Big Eyes

Big Eyes poster.jpg



What a great, engaging, funny film--it actually made me want to go out & read more about the topic!

And kudos to Tim Burton in not ruining the whole thing by casting Johnny Depp.



(Hey!  Follow 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.



The Imitation Game



Sherlock Holmes (and/or Khan) & the one woman from Pirates of the Caribbean and some other people have some brainy adventures, and it's really suspenseful & super-cool.

I don't think there's going to be a sequel.



(Hey!  Follow 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.


Into the Woods



I don't know why this movie got so much hate; it was awesome!

Except for that Johnny Depp--that damned, damned Johnny Depp.


(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


.