Thursday, December 4, 2014

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1

I stayed to the very, very end of the credits!

I was sure Samuel L. Jackson would show up to recruit Katniss, but no such luck.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Monday, November 17, 2014

Big Hero 6

I wasn't sure if I'd be able to follow this, as I'd missed the first 5 movies, but I ended up liking it a lot!

The best part of the movie, by far, is the very final minute or so.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Happy New Year

What we have here is Ocean's 11 meets Mission Impossible, a heist film with a dash of Looney Tunes, a tripped-up spill of muscle worship, and another ton yet of Matrix-style cinematography.

It's amazing, actually, that they still had enough money in the budget for the fans needed to keep the heroine's 'do constantly aloft.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Sunday, October 26, 2014

Sunday, October 19, 2014


Surely this Disney take on a Bollywood flick pleases fans of neither.

Everything that makes Bollywood fun had been watered down--and a princess plot added--in what looked like the results of binge watching Disney Channel made-for-TV movies.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Monday, August 4, 2014

Tuesday, July 29, 2014


Sad psychiatrist meets adrenaline junkie.

What happens next has all the acting subtlety of a Disneyland stage show.

(Hey!  Follow 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania

File:Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania Poster.jpg

A dance scene on a rock wall, a 3-D piñata, and even a hot li'l love scene--I'm all in!

With all the modern cinematic advances, though, you'd think they'd be able to do something about chest-shaving bumps.

(Hey!  Follow 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Friday, July 25, 2014

Life Itself

A great movie about a great (and real) movie reviewer, this film was mesmerizing from the first moments to the very last.

Made me want to catch up with many of the movies he loved, and read his writings of the ones he hated.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Sunday, July 6, 2014

Bobby Jasoos

Based on the movie previews indicating this was a screwball detective comedy, I was really looking forward to this movie.  
That stuff was all fun--fun enough that I would be happy to see more of Bobby--but all the tear-jerking family drama & too-serious crime connection (among other things) made me think the filmmakers forgot this was ever supposed to be comedic.

(Hey!  Follow 2-SMR on Facebook!)



Saturday, June 14, 2014

Saturday, June 7, 2014


When the characters here talk about "French movies," I think they mean porn.

I wonder if, in French porn, everyone smokes.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Thursday, June 5, 2014

Palo Alto

I enjoy small, independent films just fine, but if it's thought-provoking exploration of a theme you want, you would be better off viewing The Amazing Spider-Man 2.

Also, I think a better name for this movie would probably have been "Daly City."

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Friday, May 23, 2014

X-Men: Days of Future Past

An awful lot of craftsmanship went into this film.

And by "craftsmanship," I mean an old "Star Trek" script & gallons of white-out.

(Hey!  Follow 2-SMR on F'book!)


Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Monday, May 19, 2014


You know what makes me angry about this movie?

The fact that this fictional establishment on wheels serves up FAR better food than any of the sh!tty food trucks I've ever visited here in the real world.

(Hey!  Catch up with 2-SMR on F'book!)


Amazing Spider-Man 2

Really catches the both the joy & the guilt of the character; this was a lot of fun to watch.

During the credits, though, I was very disappointed to see an "X-Men" clip, rather than the SamJack visit I think Peter deserves.

(Hey!  Catch 2-SMR on F'book!)


2 States

2 States Movie Poster

Was it love at first sight, when this guy saw the young woman being verbally abusive toward the cafeteria staff?

I don't know, but the couple made it far enough so that their parents had the opportunity to hate one another.

(Hey!  Check out 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Easily the best of the "Avengers" movies.

I almost hate to see them spoil it by making any more, you know what I mean?

(Hey!  Check out 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Muppets Most Wanted

This movie answers the question, "say, what does that Celine Dion look like these days?"

And the answer is: like Anne Coulter, only without the Adam's apple.

(Hey!  It's 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Sunday, March 23, 2014

Veronica Mars

Of, course, the first thing I wondered when I heard they'd be making a movie continuing the TV series was, "is Kristen Bell gonna let that husband of hers have a role?"

OOF!  She DID!

Two-Sentence Movie Reviews on Facebook


Saturday, March 1, 2014

The Wind Rises

Starts out on such a whimsical, fantasy-rich level, of course I was disappointed as I realized the whole thing could not end well.

While I respect the artist's annual assertions of having just made his last film, I do hope that when he does finally bow out, it's on a note so cute as to make Hello Kitty's teeth hurt.

(Hey!  It's 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Sunday, February 16, 2014