Sunday, October 22, 2017


Having just recently been dragged to the re-release of an old movie (Terminator 2), I was momentarily confused into thinking this was another of the same, and not a remake.

I figured it out when I realized that the clown was most certainly not that handsome devil Tim Curry.

(Hey! Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


I'd never seen any of the Terminator films before this re-release a couple of months back; I honestly don't think I was ready.

My now-mature ears were actually able to make out everything Arnold said.


(Hey! Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Friday, July 28, 2017

Kiki's Delivery Service

A Hayao Miyazaki film is always a beautiful thing to watch (or rewatch) on the big screen.

It's a good thing I knew what I was in for, though, or I might have walked out during the super-crappy "GKIDS Mini-Fest" animated shorts that played out before the film.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-Sentence Movie Reviews on Facebook!)


Thursday, July 27, 2017

The Big Sick

So much to like here, so many great characters and relationships--in fact, the most unlikable person in the whole film is the title character: Big Sick, herself.

Such an unsympathetic, self-centered spewer of misery is Big Sick--in all stages of health--that we must finally realize our protagonist is a big dope for continuing to see her as a life's goal rather than a fate to avoid.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-Sentence Movie Reviews on Facebook!)


Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Girls Trip

So foul, I had to look away from the screen at one point.

So wall-to-wall hilarious, I had to peek to make sure I wasn't going to miss anything.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-Sentence Movie Reviews on Facebook!)


Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Spider-Man: Homecoming

Fun film, with just the right light tone that comes as a surprise in the bigger MCU.

I thought Robert Downey Junior would be the worst part of the flick, but I was wrong: that owner goes to the always-dependable-for-this Gwyneth Paltrow.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Friday, June 16, 2017

The Wedding Plan

It’s billed as a comedy, but while it’s certainly interesting enough, I don’t see what’s comedic about it (the main character is clearly unhinged—in a tragic way-- and every other character seems to agree).

Is the comedy supposed to come from the fact that she dresses just like Dustin Hoffman in “Tootsie?”

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)

Saturday, June 10, 2017


It's okay enough, I suppose, if you're really, absolutely into this stuff.

Me, I'm just relieved they didn't cast John Lithgow as Churchill.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Friday, June 9, 2017

Wonder Woman

Suuuuuch a vast improvement on the other DCU entries, but do you know what this movie needs?

This movie desperately needs a Stan Lee cameo.

(HEY!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Hindi Medium

Parents with enough money to improve their local school, instead take away a slot from a needy child at the "good" school.  

Just about too real to be enjoyable.

(HEY!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

I mostly enjoyed the parts that I stayed awake for and can remember.

This is more than I can say for most of the MCU films.

(HEY!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Saturday, April 1, 2017

Power Rangers

The movie starts out as "The Dukes of Hazzard"-meets-"Crazy Taxi," and soon adds "The Breakfast Club" to that mix, before going all "Ultraman"-meets-"Transformers."

I'm hoping the inevitable sequel can squeeze in  "The Chipmunks," "The Walking Dead" and "Peppa Pig." 

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Friday, March 24, 2017


When the film started, the ridiculous CGI birds were the only thing I could reasonably hate on.

At some point, though, that all changed when--and I am not making this up--only the first few words of every line were being subtitled, and I did something good for my sanity by giving up & going home.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Monday, March 20, 2017

Badrinath Ki Dulhania

As the movie opens, our heroine is bucking hard against her community's expected gender norms.

She is so completely successful that by the end of the film, her love interest is displaying visible chest-shaving bumps and ab-accentuating makeup.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Nenu Local

Every time a character smokes or drinks, there is a warning printed on the screen suggesting that the viewer shouldn't do these things.

Why is there no such warning when our "hero" sneaks into a woman's bedroom, sprays anesthesia in her face, and absconds with her unconscious body?

(Hey!  Follow 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Get Out

It's wall-to-wall microaggressions--and then things get really spooky.

I'm not sure which part was more discomfiting.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Running Shaadi

The blurring and muting of every occurrence of "dot-com" within the movie plucked me out of the story every time it happened--by the end, it was the only thing I wanted to know about the making of this film.

They left this wide open for a sequel, but I'm not sure we have to worry too much about that.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Monday, February 27, 2017

Hidden Figures

The stuff they never taught us in school, richly brought to life.

The thing that kept tripping me up was that the dour geek who kept on harshing Taraji P. Henson's mellow reminded me too much of some dillweed from my own workplace, thereby shattering the cinematic spell every time he appeared on screen.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!



Okay, I've had some rough train transfers, but this is absolutely ridiculous.

Easily one of the best movies I've seen in a year or more.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)


Sunday, February 19, 2017

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Tuesday, January 3, 2017


Probably one of the most exciting sports movies I've ever seen.

And that includes both "Karate Kid" movies (not Rocky, or The Mighty Ducks, though--I've never seen those).

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)



Without giving too many spoilers, I want to tell you that this is an adaption of the wonderful Broadway play, and not a documentary about fence construction.

Also, it is way better than that movie where Denzel played Sully Sullensully.

(Hey!  Keep up with 2-SMR on Facebook!)